top of page
Search
  • Pamela S

Right in the Kisser


My ten-year-old comes into the room and plunks on the bed. After a heavy sigh, he says, "My insides feel lonely."


I love the images this child brings up when he tries to express himself in words the best way he can. I immediately turn to him, trying to read the emotion in his face. Again, he laments, "My heart feels empty." Oh, the saga of a sad little boy. I stand up to go to him, wanting to take him into my arms and hold him, filling up all those empty spaces with the totality of motherly love. I lie down next to him, and start to draw him close to me. He pulls away and says, "The computer always makes me feel better. Can I go on it?" R-i-i-i-p the gentle music. After some wrestling and laughter, he is sent to finish up his chores before getting on the computer. I lie there thinking, "What have we come to?" I know I am not replaceable, but it still makes me want to take a fist to our technology. "One of these days, Alice. Pow! Right in the kisser!"

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page