top of page
Search
  • Pamela S

Music to my Ears


What do you get when you cross bad art with a pasta maker? Apparently something that looks nice on the piano.  This piece started as a card gone wrong. I had a pretty nice card painted Greek blue that just needed a little extra. Of course, I couldn't leave well enough alone so I started messing with it. I completely ruined the card, but I don't know how to throw art away so I just kept covering it over with sheet music, gold paper, and stringy paper--and loads of matte medium. Then I had this soupy mess that was too thick to use for much of anything. So always thinking, I put it between wax paper and squashed it through my pasta maker tool. What came out was better than ravioli. I loved the way it squished and moved the musical notes and pretty much tore it to shreds. And I also love how you can still see a hint of the Greek blue.


I'm not always a "theme" person. I love it when art has a theme, but I think that the bringing together of disparate objects into an aesthetically pleasing creation is enough. But this time I went with the theme. I added a gramophone rub-on, and another that happened to say gramophone (love it when that happens). Then I took some jewelry head-pins and my old rusty round pliers and fashioned a treble clef and a bass clef. (My musical daughter loves the bling on the bass clef.) Then the notes just started coming from me like a songbird. I started to fill the little bottle with musical notes.


"But Mom, you can't tell they are musical notes."


"I don't care; I know they are musical notes."


So I'm not sure if I am going to sell this one--it sure looks nice on the piano.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page